The Assistant

The Assistant

DVD - 2020
Average Rating:
Rate this:
14
One day in the life of Jane, a recent college graduate and aspiring film producer, who has recently landed her dream job as a junior assistant to a powerful entertainment mogul. As Jane follows her daily routine, she grows increasingly aware of the abuse that insidiously colors every aspect of her workday, an accumulation of degradations against which Jane decides to take a stand, only to discover the true depth of the system into which she has entered.
Publisher: Universal City, CA : Universal Pictures Home Entertainment, 2020
Branch Call Number: ASS
Characteristics: 1 DVD (88 min.) : sound, color ; 12 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
d
DEBORAH WINGERT
Jan 10, 2021

We quit it after 15-20 minutes. Who wants to go to the office when we are away from the office? Maybe they should show this to business/marketing students to urge them to pursue science classes.

a
adam6272002
Dec 26, 2020

ZERO stars

s
Suzwest1
Dec 24, 2020

Kept waiting for it to get better but it never did, what a waste of time watching it. Probably one of the worst new movies I have seen in a long time!

r
RoyalJellyIII
Dec 19, 2020

What was the fuss about? This movie took an emotionally-charged topic and gave it all the life of a morgue.

If this film was difficult to watch and you felt frustrated by the almost-silent suffering of the capable heroine, the Assistant, then this movie has succeeded in demonstrating what humiliation, bullying, misguided ambition, false hope and gullibility look like and feel like. However, it fails miserably in demonstrating how to break free. Her icy efficiency is honed by cruelty that unfortunately reveals she is complicit. We are allowed to see one significant day in her boring degrading job, endured by a woman who doesn't understand the danger of compromising your soul to corrupt power for a hazy unrealistic ambition. Unrealistic because her dream is already doomed in this environment. No adaptation will change the reality. By the time we meet the heroine she has held this position for five weeks and abuse has already caused her to lose her ability to move freely, smile openly, or even speak. This character is very very alone and she is dying by choice. Many women would have walked out in the first week and certainly after this one day. All secretaries or assistants are the true insiders of any organization and they are all pretty well ignored and underestimated. But the problem here is the heroine is not really an assistant. In her mind this role is a temporary step to her real goal. So she doesn't even gain strength from the traditional role of assistant. Will the Assistant return the next day? Maybe she will. Maybe she will go back until the one day she can't. Maybe she will be forced out by being replaced by the woman from Boise. It's not uncommon to be asked to train your replacement while not knowing the person you're training will be your replacement. Before dawn she arrives by company car but at the end of her day as she walks alone down a dark street to public transit. The streets may seem safer to her than the isolation in her scary job. She has barely eaten all day. The ending alludes to continuing pain, self-destruction and heartbreak. But hope? None. Does she understand she has a choice to leave? Will she be replaced? Will she stay to write and expose her experiences? Will she reach out to her father? Will anyone outside the office believe her experiences? Will she make a choice to live with dignity or fear? We'll never know because the ending is an enigmatic cop out.
PS. At least in "One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich" the hero had an excuse to stay (Siberian labour camp).

m
MARK GRINSHPON
Nov 03, 2020

Please do yourself a favor and don't even attempt to watch this "movie"! I can only wish someone, anyone, had warned me before I made a mistake of inserting it into my DVD player. This is the 90 minutes of my life that I'm never getting back. It is literally 90 minutes of absolutely nothing going on. As some reviews on IMDB say (too bad I checked them out only after watching this...) even watching the paint dry is a much more exciting show that this -- and now I know that they were right about it.

b
bob33lib
Nov 02, 2020

I kept fast.forwading hoping for something to happen, but just drying paint...

t
trudge
Oct 31, 2020

Like watching paint dry. Boring paint...

a
auroralibrary1
Oct 25, 2020

Was terribly disappointed with this film. Four of us tried to watch & succeeded for about 15 minutes but with the story line & acting we simply gave up. Would highly recommend you bypass!

l
LauraSteinert
Oct 21, 2020

Although most of the "action" in this film is riding in elevators and walking down hallways, there is one pretty "exciting" scene where the assistant is washing dishes with cold water and no soap. I didn't count the words but I think in the first 45 minutes there was about 25 words of dialogue and 50 words of overheard phone calls. So if you want NO action, NO dialogue, and depressing moody shots of a woman who hates her job, this is a good one for you.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at the Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top