The Girl of Fire and Thorns

The Girl of Fire and Thorns

eBook - 2011
Average Rating:
Rate this:
39
4
"Rae Carson has proved she's a master and has shaken up the YA genre."-USAToday.com The first book in Rae Carson's award-winning and New York Times-bestselling trilogy! The Girl of Fire and Thorns is a sweeping journey full of adventure, sorcery, heartbreak, and power. Fans of George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones and Leigh Bardugo's Grishaverse will devour this fantasy series. Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness. Elisa is the chosen one. But she has always felt powerless, useless. Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king-a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs her to be the chosen one, not a failure of a princess. And he's not the only one who seeks her. Fierce enemies, seething with dark magic, are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people's savior. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake. Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn't die young. Most of the chosen do. William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Top Ten Pick Andre Norton Award Finalist A Texas Tayshas Selection Ohioana Book Award YA winner Don't miss The Empire of Dreams, Rae Carson's action-packed return to the world of The Girl of Fire and Thorns!
Publisher: [United States] : HarperCollins, 2011
ISBN: 9780062093325
0062093320
Branch Call Number: eBook hoopla
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file,rda
Additional Contributors: hoopla digital

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
f
fishbottom
Jul 02, 2020

Fire & Thorns 1

r
rgesch14
Jul 25, 2019

I think someone mentioned this book commenting on an N. K. Jemison book. So glad they did, as I loved it! It reminded me a lot of The Blue Sword, by Robin McKinley. I devoured it and am now blitzing through the 2nd one.

s
sallyunderwood
Jul 17, 2019

I definitely enjoyed this book... but mostly I'm wondering why the cover has a thin white girl on it when the main character is very clearly, repeatedly stated as dark-skinned and chubby/not thin? Doesn't detract from the content, but I'm really disappointed with the publisher.

s
sue2138
Feb 22, 2019

Awesome story - hard to put down. No graphic love scenes, just one kiss, so appropriate for tweens.

I enjoyed this book. It is very unique and unlike any other book I have read. It had a sort of "girl power" theme going on and I loved it.

l
LibraryLoyal
Oct 31, 2018

This was a fantastic start to the series! I found it very unique for 3 main reasons. One, it had a religious main character and religious themes that were not offensive and weren't the main plot. Two, it was a great fantasy book and the magical elements were subtle and believable. Three, it was not Euro centric and was set in a Spanish influenced location. I also really enjoyed the personal growth of the main character. The series only gets better from here!

k
Kerijohn56
Jun 16, 2018

I loved this series and would highly recommend it. I read through all three books in a week!

MelifluousView Sep 08, 2017

I loved watching Elisa journey from a sad, pampered girl to a woman growing into her own skin. I enjoyed the world that Carson built as both familiar, but so different at the same time. I put the 2nd book on hold before I even finished the first.

n
NYSandy23
Jun 03, 2017

I had heard some good things about this book and wanted to read it as newer books in the series are out. It was okay. The heroine turns out to be a 16 year old who carries a godstone that she know nothing about, gets married off to a neighboring King, gets kidnapped and spends months away learning about herself and her meaning as a "bearer". A lot happens but it is hard to relate to the Princess because there is very little back story about the land, the people or the society. It becomes a coming of age novel in a tired trope. I'm not sure I will read the other in the series as I have lots of other hopefully, better books to read.

m
mightyminnie
Apr 05, 2017

I enjoyed the story quiet a bit, the stone in the navel thing is kinda weird but once u get passed that its good.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
b
blue_cat_7366
Dec 27, 2016

blue_cat_7366 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 12 and 99

b
Bookcat18
Feb 22, 2016

Bookcat18 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

o
olive_cat_384
Feb 21, 2016

olive_cat_384 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

z
zoeeallyson
Feb 14, 2014

zoeeallyson thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at the Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top