King's Cage

King's Cage

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
19
4
3

The #1 New York Times bestselling series!

In this breathless third installment to Victoria Aveyard's #1 New York Times bestselling Red Queen series, rebellion is rising and allegiances will be tested on every side.

Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother's web in an attempt to maintain control over his country--and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare's heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire--leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.

Perfect for fans of George R.R. Martin's Game of Thrones series, King's Cage is the third high-stakes installment in the #1 New York Times bestselling Red Queen series.

And don't miss War Storm, the thrilling final book in the bestselling Red Queen series!

Publisher: New York :, HarperCollins,, 2017
ISBN: 9780062310712
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file,rda
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
BohoBookDragon
Aug 06, 2018

I struggled through the first half of this book, but then got engrossed and had to finish it to find out what happened. For me, it was very similar to "Red Queen" in that respect. I actually had to start that book twice before settling into it. It seemed like "Glass Sword" didn't have quite the same problem and kept me interested throughout. We'll see what happens with "War Storm", but regardless I will finish the series because I'm just invested enough that I want to know what happens.

kirstd31 Jun 06, 2018

This book was not that great. I continued reading because I had to see what happened. I feel like I could have started at page 300 and read till the end of the book and would have known was going on. There was so much boring unnecessary content. I will say that I am going to read the last book in the series. I have to see how the story ends. The Red Queen was really good and these last two books have let me down, hopefully the last book is better.

m
mitchelclay
May 31, 2018

"King's Cage" Victoria Aveyard's third book in the "Red Queen" series, and follows up right where "Glass Sword" left off.

In many ways I read this book out of spite. I have read a lot of non-fiction lately and was looking for an engulfing story. The kind of story that "Red Queen" delivered, and that "Glass Sword" absolutely did not. I've never really had such a souring of goodwill the way I did between Aveyard's first and second book.

"Red Queen" felt fresh and alive due to its deeply interesting world building. "Glass Sword" felt dull and mismanaged due to its attempt at character development. What "King's Cage" brings to the table is balance. It is still slowed down by its lackluster characters such as Mare, Cal, Maven, Evangeline, and Cameron. They all read and respond to stimuli the exact same way. There is so very little that sets each character apart. But, the highlights in "Cage" is the return of focus on what makes this series interesting - its world.

Aveyard finally spends some time fleshing out why there is a war going on between he Kingdom of Norta and the Lakelanders. She explains the roots behind the Scarlet Guard. We find out more of the origins of how the Silverbloods gained their powers in the first place. These pieces are easily the most interesting parts of the book.

Also, I have to admit that Aveyard certainly has a way with endings. "Glass Sword" finished with a flourish. "King's Cage" ends with a garbage fire (in the best way.) She knows how to end a book with a scene that makes you instantly need the next one. It's really quite amazing. I spent the better part of this book enduring rather than enjoying it. But after the ending, I can't help but want to get to the next one quickly. I'll probably just endure it as well. But that's fine.

Not all books are everything you hope them to be. This one certainly wasn't either. What I can say is that Victoria Aveyard is a well versed writer with a flair for the dramatic. The universe that the books live in is still interesting. I just wish we could see more of it unfold.

b
black_gazelle_20
May 01, 2018

I love this book. I love that it includes such a broken main character, which might seem weird, but I appreciate that because so many authors write in settings like this but seem to pass over what the mental health situation would really be like in an environment like this. I also love that despite the fact that there is definite romance-type situations happening, they are not all consuming of the wonderful storyline and strong characters that are also included in this book.

PimaLib_ChristineR Dec 09, 2017

Okay, I read this last month and forgot to write a review so I'm going on my rusty memory here...First: Mare is much less whiny when she's in chains. I finally feel like Aveyard is writing her own world and characters that she believes in. We're into book three now and she's starting to build out characters and create her own storyline instead of trying to patch together The Hunger Games with some other teen dystopian series. Maven keeps Mare locked up like a prize he can't let go while the Scarlet Guard keeps growing. Through the eyes of the new blood that Mare found just before being captured, we're taken inside an organization that is obviously far more organized than either Norta or the Lakelanders believe. Even Evangeline is given a human side!

A book that gives me hope for the future of the series and for Mare and the other characters.

In reading other reviews, especially the one star reviews, I see a lot of valid points about skin-color, adding characters of different sexual orientations, and Aveyard's quite blatant "this will be a movie and you will love my book" attitude. While I do think that these are really important points, I do like to separate the author from the book. No matter how self-serving a plot-arc may be, if it is written well, I'll live with it, and I think Aveyard's writing is actually improving at this point.

r
Ranelle22
Oct 21, 2017

I can't tell you how happy I am to say the pity party in the glass sword is over thank God !

c
Chapel_Hill_KatieJ
Sep 15, 2017

I liked this book so much more than I liked the second one! There is a lot a more insight into the lives of some of the villains like Maven and Evangeline. The characters are fleshed out a lot more, with their motivations being clear. There's also a lot of political maneuvering in this book, as everyone scrambles to form alliances and build trust. The plot can be frustrating sometimes, but overall the book is a great addition to the Red Queen series.

n
Nymeria23
Sep 10, 2017

I had felt a little let down after reading the Glass Sword and only picked up this book because the cliff-hanger at the end of the second book intrigued me. I'm glad I gave this book a chance. It was so much better than its predecessor. I didn't feel like I was reading the same self-pitying thoughts over and over again, or like I couldn't relate to any of the characters.
I might have liked the first one more still, but I did enjoy this book and am interested to see how the next book of the series turns out.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Aug 23, 2017

This third installment to the “Red Queen” series is probably my favourite so far. Filled with love, action, and heartbreak, it truly is a complete story. This book made me want to scream, cry, and laugh all at once. The ending, like the previous novels, was a cliffhanger that made me want to explode and read the next book ASAP. I cannot wait until the final book in this series is released. Victoria Aveyard, the author, really knows how to captivate the readers with her writing and I think that is why her stories are so good. I would rate this book 5/5 and would highly recommend this book series to anyone.
- @potterhead of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

h
heba_sajid35467
May 17, 2017

I still love Maven, and i'm so happy he's in this book, even though he has a weird obsession over Mare. But its all good.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

m
maroon_chicken_75
Jul 05, 2018

maroon_chicken_75 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

f
foxface
Nov 26, 2017

foxface thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

a
acrazylife7
Apr 22, 2017

acrazylife7 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

b
black_pony_62
Mar 04, 2017

black_pony_62 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Notices

Add Notices

b
bookluvr06
Jul 09, 2018

Sexual Content: Some scenes with sexual fantasies and relationships between boys and girls

b
bookluvr06
Jul 09, 2018

Violence: Murders describes in intense detail

b
bookluvr06
Jul 09, 2018

Coarse Language: Contains F-word and others right up there

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at the Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top