The Mill River Recluse

The Mill River Recluse

A Novel

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
"The sensational New York Times bestseller, The Mill River Recluse reminds us that friendship, family, and love can come from the most unexpected places. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy. Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more. From the outside, Mill River looks like any sleepy little Vermont town where everyone knows everyone and people never need to lock their doors. There are newcomers for whom this appeals, from police officer Kyle Hansen and his daughter Rowen, who are starting over after heartache, to Claudia Simon, the schoolteacher who is determined to reinvent herself. But on closer inspection, there are those in Mill River--including a stealthy arsonist, a covetous nurse, and a pilfering priest--who have things they wish to hide. None more than the widow Mary McAllister, who for the past sixty years has secluded herself in her marble mansion overlooking the town. Most of the residents have never even seen the peculiar woman. Only the priest, Father O'Brien, knows the deep secrets that keep Mary isolated--and that, once revealed, will forever change the community. Praise for The Mill River Recluse "[Darcie] Chan's sweet novel displays her talent. A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together."--Kirkus Reviews "A heartwarming story."--Examiner.com "A real page-turner."--IndieReader"--
Publisher: New York :, Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks,, [2014]
Copyright Date: ©2011
ISBN: 9780615523774
Characteristics: text file,rda
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at the Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top