Understanding Samuel Beckett

Understanding Samuel Beckett

Book - 1990
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Understanding Samuel Beckett presents an overview of the work of the Irish author whose most famous novels and plays--Molloy, Malone Dies, The Unnamable, Waiting for Godot, and Endgame--are discussed in depth, alongside some less known earlier texts and later, shorter pieces. Alan Astro pays particular attention to Beckett's relationship with other authors (Dante, Joyce, Proust), his debt to philosophers (Sartre, Descartes, Pascal), his bilingualism, the psychoanalytic texture of his writing, and his manipulation of the first-person pronoun. Readers will see how Beckett's characters who wish to narrate their own deaths incorporate silence into their speech. Astro concludes with a discussion of Stirrings Still, Beckett's last text, in which he evokes his own impending demise.
Publisher: Columbia, SC : University of South Carolina Press, c1990
ISBN: 9781611170047
Branch Call Number: 848 BEC AST
Characteristics: xviii, 222 p. ; 19 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

theorbys Apr 30, 2013

Useful analysis/interpretation of Beckett's major writings for those who want to dig deeper into Beckett.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at the Library

To Top