Drinking Closer to Home

Drinking Closer to Home

A Novel

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
"Riveting and startling....So raw and funny I wanted to read parts aloud to strangers." --Dylan Landis, author of Normal People Don't Live Like This

"Jessica Anya Blau...creates characters that have a lot more depth and more of a past than one often sees in fiction these days.... I found it impossible not to care about them--and equally impossible to forget them. Blau is a magnificent writer, and this is one special novel." --Steve Yarbrough, author of Safe from the Neighbors

From Jessica Anya Blau, critically-acclaimed author of The Summer of Naked Swim Parties, comes a new novel of California, growing up, and learning to love your insane family. Perfect for fans of Jess Walter, Kevin Wilson, and Michael Chabon, Drinking Closer to Home is a poignant and funny exploration of one family's over-the-top eccentricities--a book Ron Tanner calls "heartfelt and hilarious."

Publisher: New York : Harper Perennial, c2011
ISBN: 9780061984020
Branch Call Number: BLAU
Characteristics: 337, 16 p. ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
tegan
Oct 20, 2011

This book was very good. The story is about three adult children who come home when there mother has a heart attack. Rest assured, the story is not sad. Every other chapter switches between present day family relationships and their childhood. You slowly learn more about the characters past which gives you insights about their current situations. Highly recommended.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at the Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top