The Informationist

The Informationist

A Thriller

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
17
2
Rate this:
"Stevens's blazingly brilliant debut introduces a great new action heroine, Vanessa Michael Munroe, who doesn't have to kick over a hornet's nest to get attention, though her feral, take-no-prisoners attitude reflects the fire of Stieg Larsson's Lisbeth Salander....Thriller fans will eagerly await the sequel to this high-octane page-turner." -- Publishers Weekly , starred, boxed review

Vanessa "Michael" Munroe deals in information--expensive information--working for corporations, heads of state, private clients, and anyone else who can pay for her unique brand of expertise. Born to missionary parents in lawless central Africa, Munroe took up with an infamous gunrunner and his mercenary crew when she was just fourteen. As his protégé, she earned the respect of the jungle's most dangerous men, cultivating her own reputation for years until something sent her running. After almost a decade building a new life and lucrative career from her home base in Dallas, she's never looked back.

Until now.
 
A Texas oil billionaire has hired her to find his daughter who vanished in Africa four years ago. It's not her usual line of work, but she can't resist the challenge. Pulled deep into the mystery of the missing girl, Munroe finds herself back in the lands of her childhood, betrayed, cut off from civilization, and left for dead. If she has any hope of escaping the jungle and the demons that drive her, she must come face-to-face with the past that she's tried for so long to forget.
 
Gripping, ingenious, and impeccably paced, The Informationist marks the arrival or a thrilling new talent.
Publisher: New York : Shaye Areheart Books, 2011
ISBN: 9780307717092
Branch Call Number: STEVE
Characteristics: 307 p

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

CMLReads_Nancy Feb 22, 2016

Vanessa Michael Munroe is a fascinating lead character. Her ability with languages and her androgynous appearance allow her to become whomever she must to get the job done. And, she's a killer with quite a bloodlust!

t
TheBookPosse
Dec 07, 2015

A Texas tycoon’s daughter has gone missing in Equatorial Guinea and, after four years of searching, it’s still uncertain whether she is alive or dead. His firm to decides to call on the help of Vanessa “Michael” Munroe. She specializes in infiltrating cultures, sometimes posing as a man. She has a gift for languages, and can learn a new one in a matter of weeks. Her line of work is lucrative, if not always legal.
Throughout her life, Munroe has had to fight to physically and emotionally survive. She developed her skills while growing up in the wilds of Cameroon. She spent her childhood years as the daughter of missionaries, and her teenage years and young adulthood as part of a team of African mercenaries. A lethal fighter, with a fascination for knives, Munroe is a relentless predator when in pursuit of information.
When her search for the millionaire’s long-lost daughter lands her back in the same setting that she previously escaped from, Munroe is forced to face the demons of her past. Her moral code will not allow her to give up on the quest. The question is: Will she make it out of the jungle alive?
I listened to this fast-paced thriller as a book-on-CD, and narrator’s voice was perfect for the story. The African setting was compelling, and I felt immersed in the culture, conduction and customs of sub-Saharan African countries. This mesmerizing series could be easily transformed into a movie or television series, starring Angelina Jolie.
A suspenseful story with a strong female lead , The Informationist will appeal to fans of The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest. Like Lisbeth Salander, Vanessa “Michael” Munroe is a complicated character. She is brilliant and damaged; tough but vulnerable. She has a strong sense of justice, although some might call it a twisted one.
The book contains graphic violence, and so might not be a wise choice for those who prefer “gentle reads.” I would recommend it to readers who have a penchant for high-speed chases, hand-to-hand combat, and lots of sexual tension.
Available in hardback, paperback, large print, nonmusical sound recording, ebook, and audio ebook. (LD)

korkyros Jun 19, 2015

Great story with a lot of action. I am going to read all of the authors books.

randoo May 10, 2015

I enjoyed this book so much I immediately went online to see what else she had written. I was disappointed but excited to find it was Ms Stevens first book. Great character and great story. I'm not seeing the comparisons to the Bourne character or Lisbeth but to each his own.

A patron review from the Adult Summer Reading Game: "Set in Africa, Munroe is hired by a Texas billionaire to find his daughter. A tense thriller spanning across Africa and America; Munroe is never sure who she can trust and is forced to face up to a lot of her own demons."

j
jms3221
Jun 30, 2014

Grear action. Good read.

d
dontbugmeimreading
Aug 02, 2013

Really exciting read. Much like The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I love a story with a strong woman, mentally and physically, who's not afraid to kick ass! Already requested the next book.

midge77 Jul 15, 2013

Fantastic. Cannot wait for the next Munroe adventure.

s
StarGladiator
Feb 22, 2013

An unusual book, written by an unusual author, and oddly enough, I thoroughly enjoyed both this and the second book with this character - - a most interesting character and foundation.

s
Sfhope
Sep 01, 2012

Love the strong female protagonist. Enjoyed the suspense and the setting of Africa.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote

s
SEBoiko
Nov 18, 2014

The race is not to the swift, nor battle to the strong, nor yet favor to men of skill: time and chance happens to them all.

s
SEBoiko
Nov 18, 2014

Time ages a person's soul.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at the Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top