Towers of Midnight

Towers of Midnight

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:

The Wheel of Time ® is a PBS Great American Read Selection! Now in development for TV!

Since its debut in 1990, The Wheel of Time® by Robert Jordan has captivated millions of readers around the globe with its scope, originality, and compelling characters.

In Towers of Midnight , the Last Battle has started. The seals on the Dark One's prison are crumbling. The Pattern itself is unraveling, and the armies of the Shadow have begun to boil out of the Blight.

The sun has begun to set upon the Third Age.

Perrin Aybara is now hunted by specters from his past: Whitecloaks, a slayer of wolves, and the responsibilities of leadership. All the while, an unseen foe is slowly pulling a noose tight around his neck. To prevail, he must seek answers in Tel'aran'rhiod and find a way--at long last--to master the wolf within him or lose himself to it forever.

Meanwhile, Matrim Cauthon prepares for the most difficult challenge of his life. The creatures beyond the stone gateways--the Aelfinn and the Eelfinn--have confused him, taunted him, and left him hanged, his memory stuffed with bits and pieces of other men's lives. He had hoped that his last confrontation with them would be the end of it, but the Wheel weaves as the Wheel wills. The time is coming when he will again have to dance with the Snakes and the Foxes, playing a game that cannot be won. The Tower of Ghenjei awaits, and its secrets will reveal the fate of a friend long lost.

Dovie'andi se tovya sagain. It's time to toss the dice.

TV series update: "Sony will produce along with Red Eagle Entertainment and Radar Pictures. Rafe Judkins is attached to write and executive produce. Judkins previously worked on shows such as ABC's "Agents of SHIELD," the Netflix series "Hemlock Grove," and the NBC series "Chuck." Red Eagle partners Rick Selvage and Larry Mondragon will executive produce along with Radar's Ted Field and Mike Weber. Darren Lemke will also executive produce, with Jordan's widow Harriet McDougal serving as consulting producer." -- Variety

The Wheel of Time ®
New Spring: The Novel
#1 The Eye of the World
#2 The Great Hunt
#3 The Dragon Reborn
#4 The Shadow Rising
#5 The Fires of Heaven
#6 Lord of Chaos
#7 A Crown of Swords
#8 The Path of Daggers
#9 Winter's Heart
#10 Crossroads of Twilight
#11 Knife of Dreams

By Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson
#12 The Gathering Storm
#13 Towers of Midnight
#14 A Memory of Light

By Robert Jordan and Teresa Patterson
The World of Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time

By Robert Jordan, Harriet McDougal, Alan Romanczuk, and Maria Simons
The Wheel of Time Companion

By Robert Jordan and Amy Romanczuk
Patterns of the Wheel: Coloring Art Based on Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time

Publisher: New York : Tor, 2010
ISBN: 9780765325945
Branch Call Number: JORDA
Characteristics: 861 p
Additional Contributors: Sanderson, Brandon


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Sep 12, 2012

After a couple misses in this series this book finally returns to a clear story line and begins to wrap up this epic series. This book is a definate reason to return to this series and give it another try.

Mar 01, 2012

Such a good book! Brandon Sanderson is finishing this series off brilliantly. I am loving his books almost more than the original written by Robert Jordan (but perhaps that's because the plot is finally ending!). The next book comes out January 8, 2013, I believe. It's going to be a loooong wait.

Jan 09, 2012

does anybody know when book 14 is coming out.can't wait

Jul 18, 2011

I nearly didn't forgive Mr Jordan his sad passing but Brandon has restored my faith that there are two brilliant authors in this world.

May 14, 2011

And we finally get the second-to-last installment of WoT! Old problems are solved and new problems are brought up as the world prepares for the Last Battle. I enjoyed this book, and am really looking forward to the last book.

Mar 08, 2011

Awesome - Brandon has picked up the series and is adding his own twist to personalities that is very enjoyable to read.

ziggys Mar 02, 2011

cant wait for the final book

Mar 01, 2011

Sanderson as revived the series, both in taking over the series after Jordan died in 2007, and with his amazing writing style.

Librarymans Nov 25, 2010

Really good addition to the series. Missing a couple of my favourite characters, but still really good. Sanderson has managed to keep the feel of Jordan's writing.

Nov 06, 2010

This was one of the best ones yet. Way better than The Gathering Storm because it resolved some key issues and left several others hanging. You may want to take forever to read this book - not that you will be able to - just so that you don't have to wait too long for A Memory of Light to come out. I forgot how much I love that world but Towers of Midnight brings it all back. Sometimes I wish this series would go on forever - but right now I wish Sanderson would publish A Memory of Light right away.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

Mar 01, 2012

julia_sedai thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors


Subject Headings


Find it at the Library

To Top