The Nearest Exit

The Nearest Exit

[a Novel]

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:

From the author of New York Times bestseller The Tourist...

Faced with the potential dissolution of his marriage and the end of his quiet, settled life, reluctant spy Milo Weaver has no choice but to return to his old job as a "tourist" for the CIA. But before he can get back to the dirty work of espionage, he has to prove his worth to his new bosses. Armed with a stack of false identities, Milo heads back to Europe, and for nearly three months every assignment is executed perfectly. Then he's instructed to kill the fifteen-year-old daughter of Moldovan immigrants, and make the body disappear. No questions. For Milo, it's an impossible task, but ignoring his handlers is equally untenable. Suddenly he's in a dangerous position, caught between right and wrong, between powerful self-interested foes, between patriots and traitors--especially now that he has nothing left to lose...

This edition of the book is the deluxe, tall rack mass market paperback.

Publisher: New York : Minotaur Books, 2010
ISBN: 9781250025425
9780312622879
Branch Call Number: STEIN
Characteristics: 404 p

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
hankremmers
Sep 21, 2013

Completed 9/19/13

s
StarGladiator
Jul 18, 2013

A great book in the tradition of Graham Greene or LeCarre. Will hold your interest throughout!

d
deRougemont
Aug 12, 2012

This sequel to "The Tourist" is another outstanding contemporary spy novel from Steinhauer.

g
gavinbw
Jul 05, 2012

Builds on the cadence and character development from the excellent initial book in the series (The Tourist). See my comments on An American Spy for my take on the series. There are great moments that take this above the "thriller" level to a more interesting and nuanced level (thinking here of his captivity with the Germans and his reaction to their change of pace). Definitely consider this a more thoughtful addition to the genre--and a very believable, nuanced hero.

s
sneato
Jan 02, 2012

I am not a LeCarre fan but I dd like the book immensly. A wonderful spy novel makes me want to read more.

c
CarolynEGray
Aug 24, 2010

The reviewers are right: If you like early John Le Carre (the Smiley books), you'll enjoy The Nearest Exit and its predecessor, The Tourist (make sure you read them in order). Together with to Henry Porter and Peter Steiner's spy novels, these are the best I have read in years.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at the Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top