The Orphan's Tale

The Orphan's Tale

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
10
Rate this:

A New York Times bestseller!

"Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. " --Library Journal

"Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…. I read this novel in a headlong rush." --Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival 

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep... When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night. 

Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another--or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.

Publisher: Toronto, Ontario :, MIRA,, 2017
ISBN: 9781460396421
Characteristics: text file,rda
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
MillieBT
Aug 12, 2017

An emotional , heartwarming and heartbreaking novel.....a tale about a traveling circus in
Europe during WW11....friendship and sorrow of 2 women aerialist performers from the
circus....excellent read

d
dianecameron1973
Jul 28, 2017

Wonderful read! From the very beginning the author captivated my interest. Enjoyed how the author switched between both Noa and Astrid with each chapter, getting both sides of the story. Some devastating experiences that left me thinking about the book long after I had put it down. Definitely recommended! Looking forward to reading more by this author.

r
readinJC
Jul 14, 2017

I agree totally with Jeanie123, below. This story sounded right up my alley, but the characters were poorly developed and the storyline jumped around too much. Barely finished it.

j
jeanie123
Jul 03, 2017

Despite my avid interest in the subject matter, I found this to be a very poorly-written novel. In my opinion, if you loved The Nightingale you will cringe along with me at the drivel presented in this book. The writer changed details in the plot several times without going back to edit or correct earlier events. It was confusing to me and I kept asking "how could that happen when just a few pages ago she said something else happened?" Many of the events in the ending seemed so extremely unlikely to have succeeded in this time and this regime that I found it implausible and ridiculous.

l
loritaft58
Jun 23, 2017

Great book .. well written ..

0Charlie Jun 22, 2017

This was a wonderful read. Deceptively simple in story line, I found the characters compelling and quite an interesting situation. Highly recommended.

AL_KATI May 01, 2017

I love how authors can take an unknown almost-anecdotal history footnote and turn it into fiction. I read this on a snowy afternoon. If you liked The Nightingale, try this.

l
lupodog
Mar 27, 2017

An interesting book but did not have the appeal of The Nightingale.

l
laphampeak
Mar 21, 2017

This World War II story brings a fresh take on some of its historic players by taking us inside the circus community. We follow the lives of Noa and Astrid - their loves and losses. Although I loved the interesting circus background I found the rest of the story lacking in intensity.

a
aliciamarie
Mar 09, 2017

I'll just start by saying I loved this book. From the moment I started reading it I couldn't put it down. Historical Fiction set during WWII is my favorite genre and this story was from a unique perspective that I hadn't seen printed before.

We start with a prologue and know that someone from this story is alive in the present. Then we are taken back to the beginning of the story. Both Noa and Astrid's characters are engrossing and believable. Author, Pam Jenoff, did a wonderful job making all the characters multi dimensional.

This story is told through dual points of view which allowed the reader to get into the story from all sides, which I loved. What starts out as a rivalry between the two main characters turns to a deep friendship that at times will make you cry, make you angry, and make you smile. It was so interesting to see the relationship change and grow.

I will admit that I was surprised to hear that circuses during WWII-torn Europe were still allowed to perform. It brought out a point of view during the war that I had never thought of. All those performers and citizens of the towns just trying to have a few hours of joy and normalcy during such a treacherous time.

The ending was surprising, yet satisfying. It is a complete story that will not leave you guessing or wondering what happened afterwards. Don't forget to read the author's notes at the end of the book.

The Orphan's Tale is due to be released on February 21, 2017 and I see it as one of the year's best sellers. Pre-order it now! A 5-star read!

Thanks to Netgalley and Harlequin (US & Canada) for allowing me the eARC to read and post my honest review!

Happy Reading!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at the Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top