We Are Iran

We Are Iran

The Persian Blogs

Book - 2005
Rate this:
As the U.S. asks the world to consider Iran a "rogue state" and major threat, here is an urgent, surprising and unprecedented book about what it really feels like to be Iranian today.We Are Iran is a multi-voiced portrait of contemporary Iran, translated from Farsi, using that nation's weblogs as its primary source. Iran has more web diaries than Canada-only the U.S., U.K. and Japan have more-and in cyberspace many Iranians find a freedom of speech that is not available in print. This is not the Iran of the thuggish ayatollahs but a highly educated and literate country that finds Islamist fundamentalism antiquated, where 70 percent of the population is under 30 and keen to usher in a new Iran. Their voices-infused with Persian lyricism, full of wit, anger and optimism-are utterly refreshing, and utterly at odds with the grim vision of the country peddled by Western governments. Reading We Are Iran, one has the sense that a new Iranian revolution is inevitable, and the worst thing that could possibly happen would be a U.S. attack.We Are Iran includes over 50 photos and cartoons and countless excerpts from Iranian weblogs. Fans of Persepolis and Reading Lolita in Tehran will love it.
Publisher: Vancouver, BC : Raincoast Books, c2005
ISBN: 9781551928715
155192871X
Branch Call Number: 955 ALA
Characteristics: 365 p. : ill., ports. ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at the Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top